Terminated

Hi Rea

I’ve taken a bit of time to get back to you, as I’ve been considering what you’ve said and the work that we have done to date. I agree that this year our therapy has been disjointed and just really focused on containment. However, I also think I am not able to offer you the help that you really do need. Over the course of our work together, it has been clearer to me that the most optimum way for you to get the help you deserve is to work regularly with a single therapist, and in my opinion, this should be a psychiatrist that can help you with meds and also psychotherapy. Another alternative is for you to become an inpatient in a dbt clinic where you can get the benefit of a team approach. I know that probably neither these options are something that you will like, but in my professional opinion it feels that they could give you the best chance of living a life that you can enjoy.

I really do hope you connect to the psychiatrist we tried to get you into. I am also giving you the names of two others that also do psychotherapy.  I’d be happy to advocate on your behalf if it would help in facilitating you to get into any of these services.

I have also notified the mental health crisis team at [hospital] and they have a list of psychiatrist they can tee you up with.

I have enjoyed getting to know you. You are a highly intelligent, creative and caring person. I wish you all the best and I hope that you will consider trying to work with a good female psychiatrist, even though the start may be a bit hard for you.

Kind regards

Anna

Terminated

6 thoughts on “Terminated

      1. I’m so sorry Rea. I suspected that would be the case. A very formal-sounding email, for such intimate work. And to be referred.. hope you hang in there. Sending support. I look forward to hearing more, please keep writing.

        Like

  1. This.shaking says:

    Oh, Rea. So sorry. I would have preferred Anna to have had the grace and kindness to *talk* with you, face to face, and say: “Alas, I do not yet have sufficient knowledge/training,whatever, to help you.”

    Also, may I suggest you look for an expert in trauma and dissociation.
    Try https://www.isst-d.org/default.asp?contentID=18

    A current New York Times Science best seller is superb:
    The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma
    Paperback – September 8, 2015

    And I send hugs. TS

    Like

Leave a Reply

